MPWRA History


When it was founded, MPWRA was able to sponsor our Independent Resident Councillors directly, but changes in legislation required our candidates to be members of a registered political party. As MPWRA had other functions, it seemed inappropriate for a Residents Association to register as a political party (even with a small p) so Merton Park Ward Independent Residents (MPWIR) was set up as the political party, but still sponsored by MPWRA.


How the MPWRA was born?

MPWRA was formed in 1989, as a result of dissatisfaction with local councillors who did not always listen or respond to the views of residents. The critical issue was the proposed extension of the A24 relief road through Merton Park. You can read the details if you click here.


There are more articles about how and why MPWRA was formed in our 2009 Anniversary edition of Forum: 
click here   

Our Councillors

         Oct 1989 - May 1990        Bridget Smith  
         1990 - 1994                    Bridget Smith           Dese Child            Neville Beddoe
         1994 - 1998                    Bridget Smith           Dese Child            Neville Beddoe
         1998 - 2002                    Bridget Smith           Dese Child            John-Nelson Jones
         2002 - 2006                    John-Nelson Jones    Peter Southgate    Jillian Aston
         2006 - 2010                    Peter Southgate        Karin Forbes         Krysia Williams
         2010 - 2014                    Peter Southgate        Karin Forbes         John Sargeant

         2014 - present                 Peter Southgate        Edward Foley        John Sargeant    


                                 1995-96                       Bridget Smith 

Deputy Mayors

                                 2005-06                       Peter Southgate

                                 2007-08                       Krysia Williams

                                 2009-10                       Karin Forbes

                                 2013-14                       John Sargeant